Thief of Thieves – Vol 1 TP

7 Jan

Thief of Thieves by The Walking Dead’s Robert Kirkman. Will this book allow Kirkman to pick my pocket as effectively as the star Redmond does by becoming another must read title?Firstly as this is my opening post for 2013, Happy New Year and I hope you had a great holiday season. I guess the whole 2012 apocalypses thing didn’t come to pass unless……… just had a cool idea for a comic! Well I got totally spoiled from Santa this year and the theme was well and truly comic related, you’ll see a number of review appearing over the next couple of weeks if I get time.

One of the first things I unwrapped was a book that I had wanted for a while so I thought I’d treat myself on-behalf of my kids (thanks guys). Obviously the initial attraction to this book was the fact it came from Mr Kirkman of The Walking Dead fame. After being a massive fan of the TV series and reading the first couple of issues, and loving it, of The Walking Dead, I really wanted to uncover some of his other work.

Thief of Thieves (TOT) for me is very much a cross between Ocean’s 11 and Catch Me If You Can. Volume 1 collects the first 7 issues of this ongoing title and completes the story arc I Quit.

My first impression after reading the opening chapter is that this is going to be another generic heist/conman plot-line  You have the main guy, Redmond who is the brains behind the operation, and then a collection of individuals each with a unique skill set for specific jobs. Sound familiar? Well it is, but don’t let that put you off, there is nothing ground breaking in this book but it is written with the skill you’d expect from Kirkman and paced to perfection. So if you enjoy heist stories with twists, turns and a healthy mix of action this is for you. It also adds a slightly different perspective on the hunt element of the story. A sexy FBI agent who has history and chemistry with Redmond is just waiting for the master thief to make a mistake so she can get her man (don’t want to give any spoilers away here).

Even though this read felt familiar, it was very entertaining and I read it from cover to cover in one sitting. The characters are believable and dialogue realistic, the story story has some great twists to keep you turning the pages. I know this will be made into a movie at some point and it seems like Kirkman from page one was writing a script more than a comic, not a criticism just an observation.

I really did enjoy this read, although nothing amazing and I also think that the art could have helped out a little more, it was just a little blahh in places for me, I can’t think of one page or panel that really stood out from an artistic point of view. Still it’s a solid book and I’ll be following Redmond on his next adventure, hopefully in Venice?

Rating : Solid B

Thank Kids!

2 Responses to “Thief of Thieves – Vol 1 TP”

  1. socrates81 January 10, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    When I read your synopsis I immediately thought that it was just a movie vehicle. I guess the studio execs told him to write something cinematic and he’ll have himself a movie franchise!

    • FilipoOswald January 10, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      Totally setup for a movie! If you squint at the pages you can almost see the cast (Clive Owen perhaps??). I just hope he starts exploring some other avenues and consequences of the life style they lead rather than being just one “big job” after another.

Leave a Reply

