Uncanny Avengers #1 (spoiler)

2 Nov

Uncanny def; un·can·ny/ˌənˈkanē/

Adjective:Strange or mysterious, esp. in an unsettling way: “an uncanny feeling that she was being watched”.

I guess this is going to be the first on-going title that I’m officially adding to my newly setup pull list. So that’s pretty exciting to be honest!


This issue follows directly on from events in the AvX finale which saw Scott Summers taken down from his role of the Dark Phoenix and imprisoned in a cool red crystal type cell. It also appears that defeating the Phoenix Force has brought about the rebirth of the mutant population, with new mutants popping up all over the globe. OK if you haven’t read AvX stop reading here, as a massive spoiler is about to be dropped.

You’ve been warned so here it is the SPOIL-BOMB – The first few pages keep flashing back to a speech Logan that is giving for the recently deceased Professor Xavier, whom Cyclops “murdered” during his time as the Dark Phoenix.

Oh hang on I can’t believe I forgot the opening page, it’s awesome! Imagine a guy with his eyes pinned open (clockwork orange style) having his brain removed by some shadowy and yet unknown super villain. Pretty sweet hey? Yep but we’ll get back to that.

This was a pretty cool issue with some action and a nice end panel reveal that ensures you have to get the next issue (I presume this is a common tactic in comics?) So I’ll definitely be checking in for Uncanny Avengers #2 (which I have just read has been delayed a couple of weeks).

4 Responses to “Uncanny Avengers #1 (spoiler)”

  1. xmenxpert November 5, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    I thought UA #1 showed some promise. My biggest problem, so far, is the lack of diversity in the team. The bad guys have more diversity, and they’re led by a Nazi. And that’s something Remender has had problems with for a long time. His Secret Avengers is all white, and the only non-white character in his Uncanny X-Force is Psylocke, who’s actually a white woman in an Asian body. He’s supposed to be adding two or three more characters starting in issue 5, and I really, really hope they’re minority characters. I can’t buy this book, in good conscience, until it does add some minority characters to the main cast.

    Also, the conversation between Rogue and Wanda was weird. It almost came across as though some lines had been removed or changed.

    • FilipoOswald November 5, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      I have gone back and re-read the scene between Rogue and Wanda and I tend to agree it just doesn’t flow right. Something seems a little off, maybe they spotted some continuity issues?

      As for your comment about the diversity within the team I find that fascinating. You feel strong enough to boycott the book due to it’s lack of ethnic diversity. Now I’m playing devils advocate here a little so please bear that in mind. Would you feel the same if the entire team was non-white as you phrase it? On the other hand would you prefer the writer to make scarifies to the story and the potential of the book to fill a quota? It seems a little counter productive to add in ethnic diversity for the sake of it and even more offensive to have a token representative doesn’t it? It reminds me a little of some cheesy boy band created by Simon Cowl with a mix of “talent” (use this very word very loosely) to hit as many demographics as possible to make more money not to improve the music (LOL I know a terrible example). Surely you would want the writer to make the best possible story he can with the characters available to him irrespective of race? I would read an all alien comic with no worries if it was awesome. I started reading DCnU Batwing which is set in Africa and is (so far) an entirely Black cast, and it’s great. I would love to hear more of your thoughts about this, do you feel there may be institutionalized racism in comics?

      • xmenxpert November 5, 2012 at 11:43 am #

        I wouldn’t feel the same way about an all non-white team, largely because a team like that is so rare.

        I’ve had this argument before, and I reject the idea that story needs to be sacrificed to include minority characters. In a book like this – where the whole premise is that it’s a team designed to promote tolerance of a specific minority (in this case, the fictional minority of mutants) – not having a single minority character actually ends up hurting the message, and thus, the story. Further, it’s not about quotas. It’s about encouraging writers to use characters they like who belong to minorities. I have no doubt that Remender has a lot of minority characters he loves. So he should’ve used some of them. While I do want writers to tell the best stories they can, if the only stories they can tell have white characters exclusively, that might be a problem, and something the writer should probably think about.

        Normally, I actually wouldn’t boycott a book just because it didn’t have minority characters. But it’s a trend with Remender, and in a book like this, I feel that minority characters are necessary to make it effective.

        In response to your email: Depends on what you’d want me to do as a guest blogger. And feel free to comment on my posts. If you can think of something to say – whether a question, comment, or joke, or whatever – go ahead. It’s not like I’m going to judge you based on your comments.

      • socrates81 November 5, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

        While I agree that writers shouldn’t feel they have to include minority characters out of a sense of obligation, I do feel its a good idea to include them. Primarily for the reason that it alienates readers if they don’t. I think comic books traditionally were white-centric, not because of any institutional racism, but because it was originated and grew amongst young white guys. Nowadays comics are a lot more representative. Also, a comic based originally on the civil rights struggle should really resonate with minorities, so why not represent them?
        I agree though Filipo, shoehorning minorities into roles can be problematic – in The Walking Dead comics there was a long running race controversy that they tried to resolve in the TV series with a cringe-inducing scene involving Hispanic gang members.
        A writer should write what they know, but in this case it does seem at odds with the theme of the story, coupled with Rememder’s lack of minority characters in the past. It does seem a bit off.

Leave a Reply

